When Meal Plans go Awry

I’ve been very focused on meal planning the past couple of weeks. As summer winds down and things speed up, I knew I needed to be more organized with our meals: who needs a packed lunch, crockpot meals for super busy days, easy to pull together breakfasts. I’ve been really proud of myself–I’ve shopped and prepped and it’s been great.

Until today.

When I hit a wall.

It wasn’t that I was craving something unhealthy. It was just that I didn’t feel like eating what I had planned for today. What I had prepped and readied and prepared.

eat

I ended up swinging through a grocery store and picking up one of their prepared meals. I don’t want to make that a habit, though, so I’m hoping you guys can give me some advice.

Do you meal plan? What do you do when you don’t feel like eating what you planned–swap nights, eat out, or do you have an emergency meal stashed somewhere? I need ideas!

26 thoughts on “When Meal Plans go Awry

  1. I do meal plan…and used to feel terrible if I didn’t follow it…BUT I honestly think it’s good not to…you’ve got to listen to your intuition, your gut…if always following what you were ‘supposed’ to you can really mess up that mind, stomach, healthy relationship…meal plans are great just don’t make them so black and white!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wish I could say I did better about meal planning but I simply do not! My family is not on board with healthy eating so a lot of the times I’m not eating what they are. My go-to meals are protein shakes, bars, I like to always have eggs on hand and here lately I’ve ate whole cans of chick peas for supper instead of pizza or heavy pasta meals. I’d be the same way I’d spend all this time preparing and then I wouldn’t want it. That for me is why meal planning doesn’t work for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I try to plan out at least a week so I can swap meals if I want. But, I will say, there are some night I just don’t feel like cooking so I’ll first text or call my husband to make sure he isn’t craving something than if I’m clear there I will either do leftovers or do a ‘you’re on your own’ dinner where we just fix what we want individually.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It was a one-time thing. It’s not like you do it every day or even every week for that matter. I plan my meals and really like it for the fact that it doesn’t give me the choice to go off track. Every person is different and has different needs according to their personality. Don’t beat yourself up for it! Not the end of the world! Sometimes you gotta satisfy those nagging cravings!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

