Is There Life After Running? Finding a New Healthy Home.

If you’ve been following along on my journey for awhile, you know that I was a COMPLETELY non-athletic child, teenager and adult…until I got a wild hair in 2012 and signed up for a runDisney race. I then became hooked, and it was thrilling to enter a world of health and fitness that I previously didn’t even know existed. I was healthier than I’d ever been before, and it was great.

An injury in late 2014 caused me to stop running. I keep trying to run again…and the injury flares up. It’s so frustrating. My favorite race happens here in Atlanta on July 4th. It’s a 10K, and I didn’t sign up for the lottery back in March, because I knew it wouldn’t be good for me. But now I’m right on top of it, and I’m seeing all these people prepping for it…and I have to talk myself out of signing up at the last minute. Even though I know I’m not prepared in the slightest. Even though I know I could hurt myself.

(What in the heck is wrong with me?!?)

I’m struggling with finding where I fit in with fitness now that I’m a “recovering runner”. I miss the training plans and the excitement of race day. I miss the runners high. I miss the jeans I fit into 3 sizes ago.

I’m trying to find my new healthy home. Is it yoga? TRX? A barre studio? I don’t know. But I do know I’m tired of sitting on my tushie waiting for it to come to me. So I’ve decided that it’s time to try everything, even things I never thought about doing before–because, quite honestly, this time 10 years ago I NEVER, EVER thought I could love running like I do.

This weekend my goal is to list out all the fitness things I want to try, even if they scare me. I know my new favorite thing is out there.

What do you do when you want to switch out your fitness routine? What workout do you love that surprised you?Β 

 

19 thoughts on “Is There Life After Running? Finding a New Healthy Home.

  1. I’m in love with your positive attitude and determination! Three years ago I was given a (faulty) diagnosis that discouraged me from running which was my preferred method of exercise. However, thanks to better doctors and growing up a bit and realizing that just because I couldn’t do EVERYTHING I wanted the WAY I wanted didn’t mean I couldn’t still do it. So (after three years of not running) I started up again. I had gained weight (for one reason or another) and lost muscle tone and it was slow and not pretty. But perhaps the most important thing was that my mind changed about running and activity in general. I’m back jogging and strength training and doing other forms of exercise as well. I realized that if I couldn’t be healthy, safe, and having fun doing a workout, then I might be doing it wrong. Keep being awesome and Cheers to you!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There is life after running. There is always something else that you can transfer your passion to! Try cycling, walking, anything. What was it that you loved about running? The outdoor time? The rhythm? Figure that out, and then find something else that gives you the same effect.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m definitely not a strength training person by heart – I love cardio way more – but a couple years ago I took a break from running and was surprised just how much I enjoyed the 5×5 strength training plan. I think I liked the simplicity of it and also just how strong I felt doing it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Making a list sounds like a great idea and the blessing is that you can do all of them too, any you want. I too got addicted to running.. loved it.. than had multiple issues and decided that it just wasn’t worth beating my body up for.
    Now I power walk on my own and when walking with my husband.. well, that just walking.. lol.
    Awesome post and I can’t wait to see what you try first.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Running is the workout that I now love, which surprised me πŸ™‚ Sorry to hear that you can’t run without pain 😦 that can’t be easy. Keep testing out different exercises – even try pole dancing and aerial yoga if you can!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

