Week Two Intention: Set Your Own Standard

I actually had a different intention all ready for this week, but then this gem dropped in my e-mail this morning and I thought it was even more appropriate.

   

I had a lovely brunch with my oldest friend yesterday. She is in her early 30’s, with a successful career and in a happy, long-term relationship–but not married. She pointed out how she always feels like she has to explain and go into detail about her relationship and why they aren’t married with kids when she meets someone new, but that she’s tired of justifying it to people. She’s happy–so why feel the need to explain?

I think that idea, and my intention for the week, can be applied to a lot of different people and their situations. I constantly find myself yammering on to people about how I “only” ran three miles on my run and how I’m so slow and I used to be a long distance runner and faster but I’m starting over because blah blah blah…I need to stop doing that. I know my own story, I know that those three miles area big deal to me. I need to own it and be confident in my own standards–and keep raising them as the days go by.

Hope everyone has a great week! What standards are you owning this week?

5 thoughts on “Week Two Intention: Set Your Own Standard

  1. I sympathize with you! A few years ago I was running 10-13 miles at a time, and now I’m down to about 6 miles at a time. Other people might see this as a failure on my part, but I don’t see it that way. I put my running on the back burner so that I could focus more on hiking, golfing, and snowboarding. I wasn’t being lazy or giving up on my fitness, even though other runners may perceive it that way. My interests had just shifted to something else!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

