You are not a dog.

I am not a dog. So why am I rewarding myself with food?

YOuarenotadog

This has been one of the hardest healthy-living changes for me to make, and I don’t think I’m alone. It seems like no matter how hard I work at the gym or how healthy I eat, when something good happens, I want to reward myself with food.

Food emmy
Tina Fey gets me.

Talk about one step forward, two steps back. I come up with all sorts of excuses for why rewarding myself with a cupcake or a cookie or that mini can of pepsi is okay. It’s just this once. I deserve it. I worked hard. 

Then I tell myself, very firmly: that’s right. I do deserve a treat. One that won’t kill me slowly.

I know it’s all about moderation. But food treats can be a slippery slope for me. On leads to two, two leads to three, three leads to…where did that dozen doughnuts go?!?

So I’ve made a list and I’m printing it out and putting it on my fridge.

stepaway

What do you reward yourself with–that isn’t food–when you hit a goal?

10 thoughts on “You are not a dog.

  1. I’m so glad you said this. Because the sad reality is that for a lot of people they do this, and I use to be guilty of this too.
    Not anymore, my whole mindset has changed, and I know what works for me and I know my limits.
    That’s not to say that I’m going to indulge, but when I do I savour every moment of it.

    But personally, I like to save up for something big, and it’s usually a well deserve massage.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have SUCH a problem with this… I like to think i’m getting better, but I’m not lol and with the holidays coming its not going to get much better I am sure.

    I like to treat myself to a new running shirt or some type of gear from the nearby outlet mall.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

