ToTR: Running is Really a Balancing Act

This week’s Tuesday on the Run was pretty perfect for me: balancing running/training with work, life and family.

someonebusierthan you

I was actually planning on writing a post about time management and balance soon…only I couldn’t find the time. There are some days when my head hits the pillow and I’m stunned at how much I DIDN’T get done. I’ve been trying really hard to get a grasp on my time and energy management, and some days are better than others.

Honestly, the time commitment is one of the biggest reasons I haven’t jumped back into long distance running now that I have my foot injury under control. As a homeschooling, stay-at-home writer mom with a husband who owns a business, I don’t get a lot of free/fun time…and I just wasn’t ready to make the commitment to use that free time to consistently do long runs. I’m even finding it hard to train for a 5k and make it to the gym regularly. It’s gotten to the point where I’m almost ready to take the jogging stroller out to get my runs in, despite the fact my son is closing in on 50 pounds (will that make it count as strength training?!?)

So how did I find balance? I made the choice to keep my runs short and my training casual. I know that’s not an option for a lot of you, but for me it worked out better than not running at all. For those of you out there who do manage to do it all–and get massive miles in on the weekend–I’d love to know the number one thing you do to make it all happen.  

This post is part of Tuesdays on the Run, a weekly link up with My No Guilt Life, Run the Great Wide Somewhere and MCM Mama Runs. Go check them out!

6 thoughts on “ToTR: Running is Really a Balancing Act

  1. As a running coach, so many people to me “Wanting” to run a half or full marathon but just aren’t willing to make the time commitment, which is huge. Long distances are not for everyone and personally I think there’s no less glory in rocking a 5 or 10k. It’s all great! Thanks for linking up!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is an excellent demonstration of balance–you are still getting your self expression, your time to yourself, your release. I love that I am getting to run the way that I am right now, but I also know that it isn’t going to last forever! So I am “riding the wave” as it were. Remind me that I accepted this truth next year or two when things change!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

