Table for One

My husband recently travelled for work– which has, in the past, led to some really bad food choices for me. I get lonely and stressed out when he’s gone and I tend to make myself feel better with mac & cheese therapy.

This time around, I was determined not to let that happen. I’ve been doing really well with my food & fitness plan so far this month and I didn’t want to screw it up. So I put extra effort into my planning and made some of my favorite healthy snacks and meals for one.

tableforone

I did meal prep so that everything was ready-made and easy and I wasn’t tempted to go somewhere and eat something greasy and covered in cheese. I made a batch of homemade salsa–the recipe I use makes a huge amount so I knew I’d have plenty even after he came home. I also made my favorite protein balls–they taste like cookie dough so it keeps me from making a dozen cupcakes and snarfing them all myself.

I was pretty proud of myself–I made it through most of his trip without bingeing on anything too bad. I did struggle with getting my workouts in. I underestimated how tired I’d be after being on my own with my five-year-old and by the time I got him to bed,    all I felt like doing was vegging out with Netflix. It was only a couple of workouts, though, and the first I missed all month, so I’m not beating myself up and promised myself I’d add what I missed to another workout.

All in all, I feel pretty good about how I stayed on track. Now, the trick is not rewarding myself with that cupcake…

How does your eating and exercise change when your schedule is disrupted? How do you handle it?

5 thoughts on “Table for One

  1. Sounds like you did a good job of sticking with it! I’m a huge pre-planner, so I try to work out all the potential obstacles WAY in advance of schedule interruptions. Kind of over kill, but it saves me from stressing out!

    Like

  2. You prepared yourself exactly as one should! My wife and I have been on vacation for the last 3 weeks and I must say my eating went to hell in a hand basket. We are now back on our schedule of preparing our meals on Sunday nights for the week. When the food is there ready to go it makes it much easier to stick with good choices. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

