Things That Go Through Your Head During Your First Yoga Class

Since I’m expanding my fitness from just running this year, I’m really making an effort to try new classes. I’ve been doing yoga at home off and on for years, but I’ve never taken a regular class. I recently found one I really like, but I’m realizing it’s going to be awhile before I can bend my body into some of those poses easily enough to actually relax while I’m doing it.

yoga-cat-216x300

Some of the things that went through my head during my first real class…

…”So my leg goes here and my elbow goes here and…the rest of me falls over.”

…”You want me to sit like how and bend and touch my what?”

…”Breathe in…count to five. Breathe out…count to three. Or was it five? Or ten? Oh crap, just breathe.”

…”If that perky little 100-pounds-soaking-wet-wearing-the-latest-lulumom complains about how chubby she is ONE MORE TIME…”

“How is anyone supposed to relax bent like this?”

“…Okay, this end of class laying down pose is something I could get used to. Very relaxing. Very…Zzzzzz….”

What are your biggest challenges when you start a new class?

Leave a Reply

